8 Web Information Collectors Reviewed

Update 3 (2008-05): I reviewed Evernote’s and Together’s recent updates.  While reading this post with its slightly outdated results chart, remember to use the one that’s besides this paragraph to get the updated results.

Update 2 (2008-03): Evernote is the new wolf that’s coming in the pack, and it already redefines most of what’s best.  Read this review to know how.

Update 1 (2008-03): EagleFiler’s new version 1.3 makes it fare much better.  Read this review to know what changes regarding the following comparative review, as I haven’t updated this post in any other way than this mention.

Although computers are great to work with information, in the last 10 years using a Windows PC, I never found any software solution that would work well for my information collecting and management needs, although OneNote and EverNote came close to it.  But now that I use a Mac, I wanted to see if I’d be able to find something really great.

Our Problem

I believe what makes it hard to find the good application for our needs is that we all have our own very personal ways of dealing with the information that comes before our eyes every day; but most importantly, I believe we still haven’t seen our software in general become mature. Software still behaves like a baby who won’t share his toys. Software will grow someday, but Software just isn’t there yet. Say, Software, what will you do when you’ll have grown up?

Our Need

Until Software becomes an adult, there’s many applications available, and some of them might solve most of our information collecting needs. How would we define the best proposition?

I believe what we need in any application is that it:

  • supports the features needed,
  • interacts comfortably with us, and
  • keeps doing the previous two criteria in a consistent manner.

This definition is most probably critical in the case of information collection software. When I speak of consistency for information collection purposes, I mean, for example, that whatever the web browser I use and the method I use to collect something, it will always produce the same kind of rich text entry, accompanied by its link.

The Contenders

Now, since this is all about reviewing different applications to see which one of them is closing the most towards maturity, here’s what I tested:

DEVONthink PersonalEagleFilerJournlerNoteBook

ScrivenerSOHO NotesTogetherYojimbo

I also tried VoodooPad, but I felt it wasn’t really designed for information collection purposes.

The Tests

I wanted to do a thorough test to see how much each one of these applications has to offer on what I believe are the most important features and interactions, so I reviewed the features each one proposes and put most of them in a spreadsheet.

Then, I went through each one of these features, trying them in each application, to see how they compared to the crowd and even sometimes to what I believe might be better still.

Finally, I gave them scores based on a 5-star scale.

The Results

Here’s the summary of my tests.

The first thing you need to know is that I’m not going to draw all the conclusions that can easily be drawn when you look at this big table. We would loose time writing and reading what can be so easily be seen in the table. I’ve highlighted some results to show who leads the pack, who follows the leaders, and finally, who miserably crawls behind everyone else. Also, I would have liked the table to be better designed, but what you see is what I could do in the amount of time I had.

As you might remark:

  • I didn’t test some features you might find exceedingly important, like, say, printing support, file importing support, and exporting to different file formats. I almost never print; I no more dream of the ideal application to manage all my files; and I could feel some guilt for not evaluating the rest, but I’m confident you’ll be able to find your answers by your own means while still deriving some value out of my tests.
  • I tested more thoroughly the collection features than the rest. Their results are broken down under the three criteria I defined previously.
  • Conversely, I evaluated the rest of the features without breaking down their scores, because I believe they didn’t need that much digging.
  • Some features, which I found exceedingly useful, like, say, wiki or split editor, tend to improve the score of only one application. I hope you’re as okay with that as I am.
  • You might be surprised that your favorite application performs better than you thought on some criteria. It’s probably because I dug deeper than you in its preference settings or in its interface. I wanted to evaluate it to its full potential.
  • On the opposite, you might find that I overlooked some possibilities. I proof-tested almost everything, but errors happen all the time. Feel free to tell me about it.

Comparison - Information Collectors - Summary.jpg

The Details

Comparison - Information Collectors - Detail.gifNow, you might sometimes wonder why I rated something the way I did it. If you really want to find the answer and you don’t find it in the sections I wrote to detail each application, you will need to have a look at the following table that contains my notes along the ratings. I suggest you open it in a new window and keep switching between this page and the table to understand it, using the following key, ordered left to right then down:

  • (i): Inconsistent in its behavior; will be rated down in the Consistency section, not in the current section
  • WA: Web Archive
  • Ways: The number of different ways you can do something
  • FP: Full Page
  • Running: Only while the application is already running
  • (N)R: For (not) running, means that it works even when the application isn’t running
  • Windw Area: A little dedicated window
  • Predefined: There’s no preference setting to change it
  • Indirect: You need to click somewhere before doing it
  • Not 100%: Almost 100%!
  • Until annotated: Works until you annotate the collected element
  • Tabs as bookmarks: You create bookmarks so you can see tabs
  • Suggests: Suggests completions of what you started to type
  • DragFmHUD: Drag from the HUD window
  • List: An alphabetically-sorted list
  • Intersection: The ability to see what is tagged with all the selected tabs. If intersections aren’t supported, selecting some tags will yield you all collected elements that are tagged with at least anyone of the selected tags, which is almost useless
  • Converted WA: Before you can do it, it needs to be converted to another format (usually RTF)
  • WA extractions: You can’t anotate the WA or anything inside it, but you can copy/paste something out of it and into the enclosing entry, that you will then be able to annotate
  • Use underline: Because there’s no standard yellow highlighter
  • C WA: Converted WA
  • Obtrusively: A dialog pops up and you’ll need to dismiss it soon or late
  • Virtual Folders: You may file something in multiple different folders
  • Folders: You may file something in one and only one folder
  • Where are copies?: When something is filed in more than one virtual folder, you don’t know about it
  • Tag:name1 tag:nam2: You need to type this kind of query to see tag intersections
  • Create your SC: Smart Collection
  • Inheritance: Well, let’s say it’s an advanced feature that you might want to read the help file about if you’re no programmer
  • 2%: Constant CPU usage observed
  • Database fragile?: I read that some people have lost their entire database just after a system crash, which would be really bad
  • Really bad reports: I saw many people on different web sites telling how the company wasn’t taking seriously their clients by releasing broken software and taking months to fix it

My Reviews

DEVONthink Personal

DEVONthink Personal.jpg DEVONthink is very capable in some areas where all the other applications would bite the dust. It features an automatic Wiki system, assists you in classifying the information you collect, and probably best of all, it allows you to browse your entire database in incredible ways by giving you an index that sums up all your collected entries and by providing you with a very potent see also feature. If you need that kind of stuff, look no further.

Otherwise, you might get put off by its dinosaur-looking interface and lack of a great system to organize your information so you can quickly dig and filter through it your own way.

Oh, and don’t forget to install its bookmarklet in all the browsers you use so you can collect those full-page web archives quickly and easily.

These remarks having been said, I believe DEVONthink might have a very bright future… starting at version 2.0. Competitors, watch and learn from DEVON now, or get buried later!

EagleFiler

EagleFiler.jpg EagleFiler was a bit of a good surprise to me.

Probably because of its name and its marketing, I was very reluctant to even consider testing it. But as I disciplined myself to at least read its whole web page describing it, my interest was sparked, and not for nothing.

EagleFiler is simply, out of the box with no customization, the best package if you’re constantly in need of collecting full-page web archives out of many different browsers. You can do so in much quicker ways than all the other applications (except DEVONthink, if you install its bookmarklet in all your browsers). And it features one of the best tags support.

At the same time, it’s not so great if you consider how crippled it is from sharing features and small, but useful, navigational features like, say, browser-like back and forward buttons.

Let me tell you I seriously considered making it my tool of choice.

Journler

Journler.jpgAlthough targeting journaling or blogging needs, Journler is a really serious and capable contender regarding our discussed needs.

Its overal value is really great and it really outperforms most of the competition when it’s time to integrate with iLife, to search through your library, to make sure you won’t search too much in the future when you’ll need to find the same kind of information, and to share something with a friend or the community.

Some of the things that keep it from being near perfect is that it’s really not so great at the tags game and at keeping links to what you grabbed on the web. Don’t forget to experiment a lot with its preference settings, as it might dramatically change the quality of your experience with Journler.

All in all, I believe this application is the most serious contender for your hard drive space and daily use, although it’s much more of a jack-of-all-trades that lacks some essential skills that feel too important for some people to live without them. In the future, I believe Journler will learn from its errors and become incredibly hard to ignore.

NoteBook

NoteBook.jpg I often wondered if I should remove NoteBook from this evaluation. I thought I would go to the end with its testing, because it’s presented as a contender to this category on its web site. Well, I now believe I shouldn’t have bothered too much with it, although I must tell you it’s not without having any value or not being interesting at all.

Let’s just say that I believe it’s not good to use for that kind of information collecting needs. I like to think it’s targeted towards some other kind of collecting needs that I haven’t evaluated at all here and that it might just be a really superior contender on that front.

Scrivener

Scrivener.jpg Scrivener was a hell of a surprise.

Since there’s a writer somewhere within me, I’ve been watching this application from afar for some time now, but the thought of evaluating it here with the other applications never crossed my mind until I had narrowed my own decision to three applications and browsed their respective web sites one more time. One of them mentioned Scrivener as a competitor, so I religiously went on to read its web page again, just to eliminate it right off. And then, what happened for Scrivener is the same that happened for EagleFiler. I was impressed and decided to give it a whirl. Like EagleFiler, it seemed good at this, on top of being good at that. And man, oh man, what a whirl it was! You’ll find out why later.

For now, let me praise its ability to play well with tags, its split editor, its full screen mode and, more precisely, its feature that allows you to see and/or edit many entries at the same time, as if they were only one file (with visual indicators that let you know what you’re doing).

It’s not that great at collecting information, but if you’re willing to forgive its little lack of flexibility on that regard, it will do as great as most other contenders. Oh, and forget about 1-click access to sharing something, too.

All of this having been said, let me tell you Scrivener is definitely underpriced, if you consider how much innovation and quality it incorporates.

SOHO Notes

SOHO Notes.jpg I really didn’t want to loose time testing SOHO Notes, but I did it for the sake of exhaustivity. I wanted to know if it innovates in some way that would benefit to the other applications.

Why am I so hard on SOHO Notes? Because I’ve read too much bad comments about it. How this company’s products in general would be released with plenty of serious bugs and wouldn’t work well until several months after that. How email enquiries wouldn’t at all trigger replies or would trigger them after unusually long delays and with unsatisfactory answers. How people decided to migrate to this or that. How people were telling everyone that this application isn’t even worth considering. So yes, I confess I’ve been influenced by all these comments. I think I have never seen that much bad comments about something I would have considered trying for my own use.

If you still want to know, it’s really flexible when time comes to collecting information, and it’s great at sharing it later on.

But, it’s not that great at organizing the information you collected.

In any case, the version I tested worked well, despite one crash. To be fair, I wouldn’t discriminate anyone who chooses it over the others.

Together

Together.jpg I fell in love with Together as soon as I saw it. It sports the most polished interface. Although Journler kept scoring higher for my needs than Together, I kept planning on journeying together with this lovely application.

Notwithstanding its wonderful interface, Together offers some really strong propositions. On top of all of them is its ability to collect selections of web pages as web archives, while all the other applications can only collect full-page web archives. It’s also the closest to offer consistency in the collection process, regarding the links every application should keep when it collects something out of the web. And don’t forget that it’s better than most competitors at dealing with tags.

Now, while some aspects of Together are really polished, it doesn’t mean it’s perfect. For example, it lacks some browser-like back and forward buttons. Also, like most of the contenders, easy sharing isn’t part of the program.

I really wonder how much quality the developer is going to continue putting in this application. It’s gonna rock!

Yojimbo

Yojimbo.jpg Yojimbo looks like another jack-of-all-trades.

It’s great at collecting information in general, although it doesn’t stand out on any particular side.

Other than that, don’t forget to consider its interface’s lacks of navigational features and the fact it’s not so great at organizing, searching and sharing your information.

And that’s it. Yojimbo simply doesn’t stand out of the pack, and although it’s a great product with just a few missing features, that won’t hinder some people’s love for it because they don’t need what it lacks.

My Choice(s)

Scrivener.jpg

You might wonder which application I chose over all the others. I wrote all of this using Scrivener, and that’s my answer. Although my choice is made, I plan on using Scrivener’s trial period instead of rushing with my credit card as I would do in the past. I made some errors I still regret today when I think about them.

Scrivener has so much for itself and it’s a great feeling to use an application that excels at writing while it’s also really great as an information collector.

Again, I believe it’s better to use an application that excels at something useful while being great at the rest, than using another one that is great overall but doesn’t bring anything new to the crowd. And on that regard, I would also really have liked to have DEVONthink as a serious alternative because of its advanced text analysis features, but it wasn’t there for me.

Next, my choice would have been Together or Journler, although EagleFiler wasn’t far behind.

Your Mileage May Vary

In fact, your mileage will vary. I’m telling you that because even mine does!

The results I showed you are what I would call generic, although I’m far from believing they are completely exhaustive or 100% objective. So they are generic to the extent of what I wanted to test and how I evaluated it. Now, if I wanted to tailor them precisely to what’s really important to me, here’s what I’d obtain:

  • Journler: 3
  • Scrivener: 2.9
  • Together: 2.6
  • SOHO Notes: 2.6 but lacks two things essential to me
  • EagleFiler: 2.4 but lacks one…
  • DEVONthink: 2.4 but lacks three…
  • Yojimbo: 2.2 but lacks one…
  • NoteBook: 2.0 but lacks four…

The order almost doesn’t change, but Scrivener closes nearer to Journler, and Together goes ahead of SOHO Notes.

So it may mean, on one hand, that I did a really good generic evaluation or, on the other hand, that what I thought of as a generic evaluation is already so much targeted towards my own needs that it’s not worth calling generic at all. I believe the second hand is the one that’s right, since I didn’t include some features like printing support and such and such…

So if you want your own results, you will need to ponderate my evaluations according to your own needs and add your evaluation of the things that are missing. That’s a first way how your mileage will vary.

One important thing to note is that only the top three applications are viable options for me, and that’s a second way how your mileage will vary.

What Developers Need to Do

To improve the primary value of their offers, I believe developers should concentrate on:

  • Making sure that under all circumstances (consistency), anything grabbed from the web comes in only one rich format and carries its link (support). If it’s not possible due to OS integration problems, try making a good set of bookmarklets or some other potent tool, and encourage your users to only use this solution because it will work the same great way for them in every possible context.
  • Providing quality support of organization features like tags and annotations. I believe these features should feel in your applications like they’re first class citizens of their ecosystem. Concerning tags, my experience tells me they’re much more important than if they’d only be some temporary hype.
  • Developing an exceedingly rich experience towards some precise verticals, like Scrivener does for writers.

On a more general note, keep up the good work!

What I Learned

Through doing all this testing and measuring, I grasped a better understanding of a few things:

  • It’s hard to integrate software into an operating system. None of the applications managed to do it on some specific aspects.
  • It’s exceedingly hard to properly ponderate the value of each thing that we test so that it yields the correct impact on the global results. Consequently, anyone writing or reading a review should give much more importance to the details than to a global score. It’s so easy to mess up a global score and so easy to overlook something important. (That’s why I gave you so much details and I didn’t even try to ponderate anything for you.)
  • Software is much more personal than I thought. It’s another reason why global scores can’t mean much to somebody unless they’re precisely tailored to his needs.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

40 Responses to “8 Web Information Collectors Reviewed”

  1. mac2 Says:

    I really liked this review, and I tend to agree with you on most things.

    DEVONthink Pro – great for organizing researches that imply a big amount of data, alas — like you mention — locked inside a dinosaur cover. Everyone is hoping for the next big version and its forum shows that.

    Scrivener – One of the most amazing apps available by indie developers. Totally underpriced. My workflow on writing (thesis, articles) can’t do without it.

    Together – Like you, I love the IU and it’s a solid app. My day to day organizer. Easy and flexible. The side pane is very well implemented.

  2. Daniel Jomphe Says:

    mac2: Thanks for the comments. It’s great to have your feedback. I feel a bit surprised the first commenter came on his/her own to about the same choices as I have.

    I don’t like seeing on the web, for example, how much Yojimbo is mentioned while Together is ignored. Both are good. I hope my review will help these apps evolve, and the community stop ignoring some.

  3. links for 2008-03-02 «  Mac² Says:

    […] 8 Web Information Collectors Reviewed Exaustiva comparação entre organizadores de informação da web disponíveis para Mac: Journler, Scrivener, Together, SOHO Notes, EagleFiler, DEVONthink Personal, Yojimbo e Notebook. Para *este efeito* eu gosto em particular do Together e do DTP. (tags: application review) […]

  4. Freelance Samurai Says:

    oh! epic…. I did a review that pales in comparison to yours. wonderful job!

    unlike you I took the exporting bit close at heart… having all that data hostage to an application is the last thing I need.

    I went for journaler about a year and a half ago (before that I used Devonthink, but felt it was total over kill, and my 700Mhz ibook really felt it’s weight).

    I decided to to the review because I got into college again and there was no way I was taking notebooks (not at the speed I type, it would be redundant). I used Journaler extensively and i don’t regret it for a second.

    again, awesome review. thank you.

  5. voodoopad lite vs journaler vs devonthink « Freelance Samurai Says:

    […] another brilliant review, this time by Daniel Jomphe reviewing Devonthink, Eaglefiler, Journaler, Notebook, Scrivener, SOHO Notes, Together and Yojimbo side by sid….  […]

  6. Daniel Jomphe Says:

    Freelance Samurai: Thank you! I read your reviews and it was good to read about importing & exporting. As you say, I totally overlooked these aspects, although they’re important.

    It was also great to get to know VoodooPad a bit more. I’m planning to try it for my own use as an ideas notebook. I’ll probably try wikidpad at the same time, which I liked very much when I used it a few years ago.

  7. ShanshuProphecy Says:

    Great review!

    I have used all of these apps at one time or another and I am currently trying to decide which one/s to implement long-term. I was thinking one for home one for work or something like that … ?

    I actually own and use SoHo notes and I am often surprised at the bad attitude it creates when mentioned, I have yet to have any problems and I don’t see it as any worse than any of the other, similar apps like yojimbo or journler. A big bonus for me is being able to password protect individual files and also the form builder which maked entering banking details or software licenses a breeze …

    Thanks again

    Thanks again

  8. Daniel Jomphe Says:

    ShanshuProphecy: I sometimes wonder if all this bad mouthing about SoHo is really on the point. It’s good to hear from an experienced user. If you come back to this comment thread, please tell us how long you’ve been using it. I suspect their software and service might not often be that bad. As of now, my feeling is I would tend to avoid X.0 releases, and wait for X.1 or X.2.

  9. Brian Ogilvie Says:

    Thanks for the detailed review! What I found annoying about using Chronosoft’s StickyBrain and its successor, SOHO Notes, is their decision to store users’ data outside the home folder. That meant that my routine daily backup was missing it until I figured out where the data were stored (I used to use Retrospect to back up the /Users folder on each of my computers). It also seemed much more crash-prone than any of the other snippet keepers that I’ve used. My own workflow currently involves Journler for most snippets, DevonThink Pro for my research notes, and Scrivener for drafting articles and chapters. I tried Circus Ponies’ NoteBook for a while but I thought that they took the notebook metaphor too far. (And NoteBook did not play well with Unicode in the indexes, which was a problem for taking notes that include some snippets of classical Greek.)

  10. EagleFiler 1.3 Reviewed « Daniel mostly on Software Says:

    […] which includes some great new features, I thought it’d be interesting to update my recent comparative review to see how EagleFiler now fares with its competitors.  But I’m not going to update the […]

  11. Evernote for Mac Reviewed (beta version) « Daniel mostly on Software Says:

    […] Today, I took a few hours to run Evernote against my web information collection test benchmark.  I’m now ready to share with you how Evernote, in its actual pre-release form, competes with the pack. […]

  12. Bill Says:

    This a wonderful review with lots of general information as well as insight into how you were looking to use an application in this category. Very useful summary on these 8 apps. I appreciate the updates on EagleFiler and the addition of Evernote.

  13. Daniel Jomphe Says:

    Bill : Thank you. Updating for EagleFiler 1.3 and adding Evernote are two things that have been very beneficial to me. Although it’s really time-consuming to build a thorough comparison like this one, I found it really useful and now it’s really easy and quick to review and compare a new app like Evernote. It’s been a really interesting experiment on my part.

    I hope to broaden this testbed some day to more general uses of the same software. I really don’t know if I’ll do it, though. Thanks again for the feedback.

  14. Daniel Jomphe Says:

    Bill : Thank you. Updating for EagleFiler 1.3 and adding Evernote are two things that have been very beneficial to me. Although it’s very time-consuming to build a thorough comparison like this one, I found it really useful and now it’s quick and easy to review and compare a new app like Evernote. It’s been an interesting experiment on my part.

    I hope to broaden this testbed some day to more general uses of the same software. I really don’t know if I’ll do it, though. Thanks again for the feedback.

  15. Gordon R. Vaughan Says:

    For anyone landing here interested in DEVONthink, I really like it & left some comments last night at

    https://danieljomphe.wordpress.com/2008/03/22/evernote-for-mac-reviewed-beta-version/#comment-31

    Looking over the reviews again this morning, Daniel, I’m wondering what are your 3 essential features that DEVONthink lacks?

    Also, one of the functions I was really hoping DT would cover (well) was writing (which involves a lot of organizing of information, too). I haven’t really done much writing yet on DT, but am beginning to think it won’t really handle it as well as I’d hoped.

    I’ve long been amazed at the lack of a strong writing tool, which is such a common job that computers ought to be able to help us with. While I really like DEVONthink for organizing info, Scrivener may also be a tool with a bright future, if it’s as good as you say. I’ll have to check it out soon.

  16. Daniel Jomphe Says:

    Gordon : 1. Tags; 2. Proper integration of tags into search features; 3. Saving searches into smart folders. One could argue that 1 & 2 are the same, and I wouldn’t mind. For the sake of this review, I believe I should have written it this way more than like I did.

    When you try Scrivener, I strongly suggest you skim through its tutorial. Most of it is pretty obvious, but if I remember well, it’s there, for example, that I learned I could edit multiple files like if they were only one contiguous file. It’s like mixing up outlining and writing, and I found it really efficient.

  17. Gordon R. Vaughan Says:

    1. Yeah, obvious.
    2. Yes, but beyond that, it would be nice for any info manager to have a global tag management feature so you could consolidate similar tags, etc.
    3. I guess smart folders could be of help for filing search results from the web; don’t think I’d use DT that way, since I don’t want to fill it full of noisy data. Organization/structure is important for me.

    Thanks for the tip about Scrivener, I do miss outlining in DT & am curious about how Scrivener integrates outlining and writing, as you say.

  18. Together and Evernote: Updates Reviewed « Daniel mostly on Software Says:

    […] you remember my comparative review of web information collection applications, you know I liked a lot Together.  Now it’s been significantly upgraded in its new […]

  19. Alan Mortensen Says:

    I know it’s an additional application, but you should really look into webjimbo in addition to yojimbo. I don’t think any of the other applications have that level of web integration even with third party additions (short of screen sharing). I really need to be able to access and preferably acquire my info at any computer and I’d need a fairly large and fast flash drive to make that work with any of the other apps.

  20. Daniel Jomphe Says:

    Alan: Thank you for the comment. I plan to make a new version of my benchmark that’ll evaluate more wide options. Your comment left me more interested than ever in trying (web+yo)jimbo. I’ll be sure to consider webjimbo’s features for the next iteration of my comparative review. Meanwhile, who knows if the developer won’t release a significant update to yojimbo that would make it compare more favorably under my current benchmark…

  21. AlexM Says:

    Your blog is interesting!

    Keep up the good work!

  22. Greg Says:

    I use Together but am evaluating again. One of my main requirements is to be able to get this data out of the application. I will use such an application all the time, but I will need to get data our and into another app from time to time – like I keep work information in here and I am one of the few mac’s. I need to be able to publish articles to our internal wiki or just in file format. Maybe Together can do this better than I understand.

    Regarding the comment that together does not get covered as much as yojimbo . . . that might be true but part of that is the ability to FIND such reviews. Searching for together is a utter waste of time. You have to use terms like Yojimbo or devonthink to find reviews that also cover together. I think together is a bad name for that reason. Had to find publicity for your product.

  23. robthecomputerguy Says:

    I just wanted to say that this review helped me immensely and I thank you very much for taking the time out to do it!

  24. Øystein Says:

    Why do you regard the ability of Together to save parts of web pages as web arhives rather that rich text to be so important? What are the advantages of a web archive?

  25. Daniel Jomphe Says:

    Øystein: Only one reason – web archives preserve the best how what you collect looked at the time you collected it. If preserving something in a state that fits with your visual memory is important to you, then rich text isn’t up to the task.

  26. tayker Says:

    Great article, and I wish this was written in 2005 when I started investing in SOHO. If you decide to follow up, I think you should include how apps tax the system and sync services. After 3 years of using SOHO, I’m looking elsewhere because SOHO, with its SOHO services and use of OpenBase, really taxes my system – no app should take 15 minutes to load with 4GB of memory.

  27. Freelance Samurai » voodoopad lite vs journaler vs devonthink Says:

    […] And another brilliant review, this time by Daniel Jomphe reviewing Devonthink, Eaglefiler, Journaler, Notebook, Scrivener, SOHO Notes, Together and Yojimbo side by sid….  […]

  28. Todd Stanfield Says:

    Thanks for the comparison. Here is my take on the current state of things based on my workflow needs: http://www.macgrad.com/2008/12/20/the-conundrum-that-the-devonthink-20-update-poses/comment-page-1/#comment-205

  29. sandrar Says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  30. Reinvented Blog » Blog Archive » Together Compared Says:

    […] 8 Web Information Collectors Reviewed by Daniel Jomphe covers DEVONthink Personal, EagleFiler, Journler, Circus Ponies Notebook, Scrivener, SOHO Notes, Together and Yojimbo. […]

  31. Joe Says:

    Daniel, thanks for a fantastic review. I have work on large consulting projects to selection multi-million dollar software systems for clients after performing in-depth documentation of the organization’s functional requirements, and you have more or less adhered to fundamentals of such a professional process on a more personalized level. It makes the results more relevant and usable for future updates. Although my ultimate uses very from yours (not so heaving on the writing functionality), your review has certainly informed my search given some perspective to work from. Again, great job!

    A couple of questions now… Is there a reason why none of the Ironic Software products (Yep or Leap) made it into the comparative review? Also, have you had the opportunity to update your results for DEVONthink following there full-release of version 2.0?

  32. Daniel Jomphe Says:

    Joe: Thanks for the feedback.

    At the time of review, like you say, I was only researching those apps that allow us to write directly in their interface. Both Yep and Leap need the user to launch a dedicated application to do so, and therefore they didn’t qualify to be reviewed. That said, they’re fine products enough that I bought licenses for them.

    DEVONthink version 2 didn’t seem to bring a lot new interesting changes to the table. Each time I would read the change list, I would end up asking myself what really are the selling points of the update.

    Finally, I’m not sure I’ll ever update my comparative review. I never got to use *any* note-taking app! But when I do, I’ll probably choose Evernote.

    • funky327 Says:

      Hi Daniel,

      This is a bit off topic but I have to know what application you created your evaluation matrix out of, it’s exceptional. Excellent comparison of software it was a great help to me

      Thanks

      • Daniel Jomphe Says:

        Hi funky327,
        It’s Numbers of Apple’s iWork. So it’s basically a heavily hand-tuned spreadsheet. If you’d like to play with my file to adjust it to your particular needs, either in Numbers or in Excel, let me know.
        Thanks

  33. Les logiciels fourre-tout « Productivité académique Says:

    […] de 8 logiciels de collecte d’information : https://danieljomphe.wordpress.com/2008/01/31/8-web-information-collectors-reviewed/ Catégories:Uncategorized Commentaires (0) Rétroliens (0) Laisser un commentaire […]

  34. stokkeland Says:

    Have you tested Mariner Software’s MacJournal? My needs might be different than yours, and I’ve only used MacJournal, Shovebox and Evernote. I will check out Scrivener, it looks very interesting. I do own DevonNote (from a bundle), maybe I should check it out.

    • Daniel Jomphe Says:

      No I haven’t, although I’ve often taken a look through the screenshots and description of its features. Nowadays it feels much more like a solid offering for information collection purposes than it felt at the time I wrote this article. Looks like it’s more oriented towards composition and sharing, which may be very useful. If I were to do a review again, I would certainly include it in the contenders. Good luck finding your trusted app!

  35. web site Says:

    Excellent items from you, man. I’ve take into account your stuff prior
    to and you’re just extremely excellent. I actually like what you have acquired right here, really like
    what you’re stating and the way in which in which you are saying it.
    You make it entertaining and you continue to take care of to stay it sensible.
    I can not wait to read far more from you. That is actually a wonderful web site.

  36. recruitment agency London Says:

    Attending the normal one (1) year statutory induction for the new teacher is necessary as is
    taking additional courses over the Department of
    Education approved institutes. For getting recruited inside the Military
    engineering Services, candidates have to have passed the engineering degrees.
    Opportunities are then handpicked based upon what supplies the most advantage of both potential employee and
    also the hiring company.

Leave a Reply

