Archive for June 18th, 2008

Apple Mighty Mouse: Pros & Cons

2008-06-18

Here’s yet another post about the UnMighty Mouse.  I thought Apple needed me to spell it out loud and clear, short and sweet.  I’m often verbose, but this time, I ain’t gonna be.

Here’s my personal list of pros and cons after 6 months of full-time usage of the Mighty Mouse:

Pros

  1. I am addicted to its scroll ball, and
  2. it looks and feels great (glossy, light).

Cons

  1. But it sometimes right-click when I left-clicked, or the reverse, and it’s getting worse over time;
  2. I sometimes need to clean the scroll ball, and
  3. we cannot simultaneously click both left and right buttons, and
  4. right clicks are not 100% accurate, and
  5. right clicks cannot be done fast enough for action games, and
  6. the optical sensor makes the mouse cursor sometimes jump, while my non-Apple mouse never fails on the same surface, and
  7. generally, its optical sensor works much less well than my Logitech’s laser sensor.

I’ve cross-posted this list to the product reviews in Apple Store.

Oh, yeah: kudos to Logitech and Microsoft for their great mice.