Do Macs really wake up faster than PCs?

Doesn’t the following sound like an overloaded computer with insufficient RAM?

“It takes 15 minutes to boot from the off position and 5-10 minutes to wake up from sleep.” – anonymous, 8th paragraph of this post on MacApper.

Unbelievable. It’s not a computer, it’s a swaputer. I would definitely have to fight hard not to hate my employer if he forced me to use such a sluggishness. Or maybe it’s anonymous‘ fault for not recognizing the limits of hardware, for not ever refusing to install this neat new little, long-running, resident application.

Anyway. Let’s tackle the heart of the matter.

We switched to Mac in late 2007 and never looked back.

We still have a late 2003 Windows XP laptop that we use every day while the other one is lucky enough to use the 24-inch iMac.

I’ve always been wondering why Mac people keep saying Macs wake up from sleep faster than Windows PCs. Even my old Windows laptop wakes up in three seconds. Remember, that’s the benchmark of a 6 years-old model! Heck, our iMac is just two seconds faster at waking up!

Now, were I to have a recent Windows PC whose hardware is on par with my iMac’s, I believe it makes sense it would wake up almost 100% as fast as my iMac, wouldn’t it?

No wonder I keep asking myself if it’s out of good or bad will that people keep saying Macs wake up faster! Even Apple recognizes their OS could wake up from sleep faster. After all, they tout Snow Leopard does it up to twice faster. (I know, this doesn’t support the argument. But still!)

That said, I must confess a couple irregularities.

To keep our old laptop from being too slow, we don’t use any typical Windows security software. No anti-virus and the like. (In fact, I’ve been doing this for 15 years without problems! Looks like we’re very good Internet citizens.)

Also, I don’t allow almost any kind of software to be always running, always present in the notification area unless it’s really always needed.

So these two factors might account for our Windows laptop waking up so fast. And for all typically secured and app’ed Windows computer’s sluggishness at waking up from sleep.

What’s your take on this?

Leave a Reply

